Peggy Piper’s Lucky Day (blog hop story)

Mandatory words: ostrich, binder, spoon, schedule, bottle

Mandatory words: ostrich, binder, spoon, schedule, bottle

Above is the blog hop writer’s prompt given last week; below is my story that goes with it. Enjoy!

***

Little Peggy Piper put a penny in her shoe because she’d heard that’s what all the lucky people do.

“I wonder what kind of luck a penny brings. Maybe a pair of skates or a dog that sings?”

A dog that sings would be such a delight, she thought, as she tucked down the penny and laced her sneaker tight.

Strolling through the park her luck began, when before her eyes appeared an ostrich with feathers of grey and tan.  It was enormous and awkward in front of Peggy Piper, who’d never seen such a bird let alone one that was so hyper!

It fluttered its plumage in obvious distress, “Pardon me, little Miss,” it said, “Can you please help me find this address?” It rose up its foot holding a scrap of paper with instructions to arrive on the corner of 4th and Caper.

Peggy was in awe yet knew she shouldn’t speak to strangers, but could this talking ostrich really be a danger?

“Sure, I’ll help you,” she said, “I have a map in my binder.”

“Oh! Thank you!” exclaimed the ostrich, “I bet you are a good address finder!”

Pulling off her backpack and kneeling to the ground, Peggy dug out the map when the ostrich let out a gasping sound.

“Oh my! I don’t mean to pry, but what is that bottle inside your bag?”

Peggy peeked inside and discovered a bottle of Dr. Fizzy Jag.

“That’s my favorite soda pop! How’d that get in there? There is so much luck in the air!”

The ostrich replied, “You are very lucky, indeed. That’s the soda we magic animals need.”

“Where did you come from anyway?” asked Peggy Piper. “Meeting a talking bird has made my day!”

“I must get to this address, so I’ll tell you on the way,” promised the ostrich, “but first, please, I need a drink of your soda, would that be okay?”

Peggy Piper tipped up the bottle to her feathered friend, and couldn’t believe this wasn’t pretend!

“We must be on our way,” said the ostrich, “for I am behind schedule. Climb on my back and we’ll get there on the double!”

The ostrich explained magic animals come at the third full moon, but humans rarely see them because their senses are not in tune. The soda is used for magic’s fuel, for it is the most essential time-travel tool. It’s best to fill up on a soda-sundae with sprinkles and a spoon, but straight from the bottle works fine too.

“It’s time for us to go home and traveling together is so much safer, which is why I must get to the corner 4th and Caper.”

“We’re almost there,” said Peggy Piper, “I wish you could stay.”

“Me too, dear child, but I’ll be back again another day.”

They arrived at the corner and the ostrich was soon on his way.

Peggy Piper thought as she watched him leave, “Wow! A talking ostrich is no dog that sings, but what luck my penny did bring!”

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Peggy Piper’s Lucky Day (blog hop story)

  1. Love, love, LOVE! Well done! I mean, “Peggy was in awe yet knew she shouldn’t speak to strangers, but could this talking ostrich really be a danger?” How great is that? Answer–great! And it’s wonderful to have you back as well. Hope all is good with you and yours. God bless.

    • Thank you so much, Scott! Glad you enjoyed it. It was a fun one to write. 🙂 I just finished my story for this week… not as fun as Peggy’s, but still fun to write.

Leave a comment